(TORONTO, ON) – Rugby Ontario is proud to announce the four individuals and two teams selected for induction into the Rugby Ontario Hall of Fame as the Class of 2015. Honoured by the Rugby Ontario Hall of Fame Selection Committee as the thirteenth group of enshrinees are David Harris, Bob Lipsett, Dave Lougheed, Tony McGann, the Markham Irish Canadians Rugby Club 1st XV (1962-1973), and the Ottawa Irish Rugby Club 1st XV (1986-1992). “The contributions and achievements made by these four individuals throughout the lengthy time they spent building the sport of rugby in Ontario make them an integral part of our history. They are joined by two of the most prolific and dynastic club teams our province has ever produced, making for a very deserving class of inductees,” said David Butler, Rugby Ontario Chairman. “The Rugby Ontario Board of Directors is proud to unanimously approve the Selection Committee’s recommendation for their induction into the Rugby Ontario Hall of Fame.” The Class of 2015 will be honoured at the Rugby Ontario Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony and Dinner in Mississauga, Ont., on the evening of Saturday, Nov. 14, 2015. The ceremony will be held at the Maple Banquet Hall, and will be held in conjunction with the Rugby Ontario Awards evening. Ticketing details for the 2015 Rugby Ontario Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony and Dinner will be announced in the coming weeks. Rugby Ontario Hall of Fame, Class of 2015 - Fast Facts: David Harris - Founded Markham Rugby Football Club, serving as the club’s president on numerous occasions (1980-2006) - After joining the teaching staff at Markham District High School in 1973, he established and developed rugby programs for young men and women at the school (1975-2003) - Instrumental in reestablishing a men’s rugby program at the University of Waterloo (1966-1970) Bob ‘Red’ Lipsett - Amassed a 24-year playing career for Balmy Beach RFC (1957-1980) - Captained Balmy Beach RFC to their first Carling Cup (1968) - Established and developed a rugby program at Cedarbrae Collegiate Institute, where he coached for 35 years Dave Lougheed - Earned 34 caps for Canada in a national team career that spanned 14 years (1990-2003) - Represented Canada at three Rugby World Cups (1995, 1999, 2003) and two Rugby World Cup Sevens (1993, 1997) - Represented Ontario for 12 years, winning national championships in 1995 and 1996 (1987-1998) - Played professionally for Leicester Tigers (1998-200) and Gloucester Rugby (2000) Tony McGann - Had a 11-year playing career with Toronto Welsh RFC (1980-1985) and Balmy Beach RFC (1986-1990), captaining both club sides - Earned four McCormick Cup titles with Balmy Beach RFC (1986-1989) and an Ontario League title with Toronto Welsh RFC (1983) - Represented Ontario for 10 years, winning a national championship in 1982 (1981-1990) - Member of multiple Rugby Canada national touring sides, Canada Sevens sides, and Canada East sides (1982-1990) Markham Irish Canadian Rugby Club 1st XV - 1962-1973 - This team, then known as the Irish Canadians, won six Ontario Cup titles (1965-1967, 1969-1971) and six Ontario League titles (1962-1963, 1968, 1971-1973) throughout their 12-year dynasty - This side produced 23 players and coaches for provincial and national teams Ottawa Irish Rugby Club 1st XV - 1986-1992 - This team won seven consecutive Ontario League titles (1986-1992), two McCormick Cup titles (1990-1991), and one Ontario Triple Crown (League, Cup, Sevens; 1991) - During the 1986-92 period, members of Ottawa Irish who played for Canada or were selected for national squads included Al Charron, John Billingsley, Norm Carr, Mike Clarkin, Pierre Duey, Steve Grey and Karl Svoboda

191 views0 comments