• Matt Tidcombe


Congratulations to Markham's own Andrew Coe and Jeremy Brownridge on being named University Sevens All-Stars.

After a successful National University Sevens Rugby Championships at Burnaby Rugby Club last month, Rugby Canada is pleased to announce the University All-Stars from the men’s competition. Twenty players from 10 universities across Canada have earned all-star honours. The University All-Stars will take part in the Langford Sevens on May 29 and the event will be held at Westhills Stadium. "There are a number of very good players coming through the university sevens ranks,” Men’s National Sevens head coach Liam Middleton said. “This university representative team offers players an opportunity to enter our pathway which leads to competition for National team places.” The all-star selections from the University Sevens are in its second year and is part of our long-term approach to sevens talent identification. The University Sevens began in 2011 as part of a plan to give more opportunities to university rugby players and to build a pathway towards National team consideration. From 2012-15 the event was played in Langford after the original tournament was played at UBC’s Thunderbird Stadium. “This tournament is growing in quality and the athletes we are identifying are getting an opportunity to show their talents in a new environment in front of national coaches,” said Ken Goodland, Rugby Canada’s National Player Development & Talent ID coordinator. Complimenting the quality of the university programs Goodland adds, “We are building the depth of the sevens program and already have had one player from last years all-stars develop through the Maple Leafs and into the World Series.” UVIC won this year’s final, beating UBC 28-12. UVIC has won five of the six cup finals since the tournament’s inauguration. Western University won the 2012 tournament. 2016 University Sevens All-Stars

  • Jeremy Brownridge – Brock University & Markham Irish Canadian Rugby Club

  • Andrew Coe – UBC & Markham Irish Canadian Rugby Club

  • Dylan Mundy – Brock University

  • Jeffrey McDonald – Queens

  • Ty Williams – University of Calgary

  • Wade Lavellee – University of Regina

  • Isaac Kay – UVIC

  • Ollie Nott – UVIC

  • James Pitblado – UVIC

  • Crosby Stewart - UVIC

  • Liam Murphy-Burke – UBC

  • Theo Sauder – UBC

  • Marcus Hall – University of Regina

  • William Jacklin-Watt – U of Saskatechwan

  • Payton Hall – University of Regina

  • Kainoa Lloyd – Queens

  • Michael Appiah-Kubi – Waterloo

  • Cole Keffer – UBC

  • Kaprieli Vataiki – UVIC

  • Alex Colbourne – Queens

90 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All