• Brock Smith


(TORONTO, ON) – The Ontario Storm senior women’s provincial rugby program coaching staff is pleased to announce the 2016 Senior Storm Long List. The Storm coaching staff would like to thank all athletes who attended the program’s winter and early spring training sessions. 2016 Ontario Storm Long List Loren Baldwin (Aurora Barbarians) Emily Barber (Aurora Barbarians) Asya Bartley (Barrhaven Scottish) Caitlin Beaton (Guelph Redcoats) Tyson Beukeboom (Aurora Barbarians) Stephanie Black (Aurora Barbarians) Chelsea Brathwaite (Brampton Beavers) Louise Chen (Aurora Barbarians) Emma Chown (Aurora Barbarians) Lauren Congdon (Mississauga Blues) Brittany Douglas (Peterborough Pagans) MacKenzie Fane (Aurora Barbarians) Britni French (Aurora Barbarians) Susan Garwood (Barrhaven Scottish) Maria Godfrey (Cobourg Saxons) Alexis Groulx (Barrhaven Scottish) Jacey Grusnick (Barrhaven Scottish) Kelsey Gsell (Guelph Redcoats) Mackenzie Higgs (Aurora Barbarians) Colleen Irowa (Brampton Beavers) Lori Josephson (Aurora Barbarians) Brittany Kassil (Guelph Redcoats) Daria Keane (Guelph Redcoats) Jane Kirby (Fergus Highland) Cheyenne Legerton (Brampton Beavers) Misha Maric (Markham Irish) Lauren McEwan (Kingston Panthers) Olivia Merritt Brooke Newsome (Brantford Harlequins) Fedelia Omoghan (Toronto Saracens) Kelsey Owen (Oshawa Vikings) Tobi Owotomo (Toronto Saracens) Irene Patrinos (Ottawa Irish) Gillian Pegg (Aurora Barbarians) Emily Ricketts (Oakville Crusaders) Olivia Roberge (Toronto Scottish) Laura Russell (Toronto Nomads) Simone Savary (Barrhaven Scottish) Natasha Smith (Barrhaven Scottish) Ashley Snider (Waterloo County) Katie Svoboda (Belleville Bulldogs) Sara Svoboda (Belleville Bulldogs) Natalie Tam (Toronto Saracens) Rachel Van Fraassen (Oakville Crusaders) Lauren Walkden (Oakville Crusaders) Karlye Wong (Toronto Saracens) Petra Woods (Toronto Saracens)

The Storm coaching staff is excited to start working with this excellent group of athletes this summer, and look forward to engaging the athletes in a process-oriented approach to the program’s attack and defensive strategies. Looking ahead, the Ontario Storm senior women’s provincial rugby team will participate in the Senior Women’s Canadian Rugby Championship this summer, with Rugby Ontario hosting the tournament at Fletcher’s Fields (Markham, Ont.). The competition will run Aug. 15-21, 2016. The Storm coaching staff will announce a 24-player tournament squad prior to the 2016 Senior Women’s Canadian Rugby Championship. Program-related inquiries can be directed to Ontario Storm manager John Pryce (jpryce@miad.com). Ontario Storm Staff Sonia Sennik – Head Coach Stuart McReynolds – Assistant Coach David Butcher – High Performance Manager / Skills Coach John Pryce – Manager About Ontario Storm: The Ontario Storm program is the high performance representative program for female rugby players in Ontario. It is designed to develop and showcase female athletes for Canadian national teams. The senior team represents Ontario at the senior women’s Canadian Rugby Championship, and has won national and regional titles in three of the past four seasons. The under-20 team represents Ontario at the under-20 women’s Canadian Rugby Championship, and is designed to develop and showcase female athletes for the under-20 national team, as well as serving as a feeder program for the Ontario Storm senior team.

For more information, please contact: Brock Smith Communications Coordinator Rugby Ontario (647) 560-4790 x106 bsmith@rugbyontario.com For all the latest information, follow us: Online: http://www.rugbyontario.com/ Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/RugbyOntario Twitter: https://twitter.com/RugbyOntario

41 views0 comments